menu

NDSG Virtual Annual Meeting 2021

Transforming Power: Young Folx Leading Change through Healing, Storytelling, and Anti-Racist Pedagogy

February  12 - 13, 2021
Via Zoom

NDSG VAM '21 Logo

Overview

The meeting will be held via Zoom, with multiple sessions from Friday evening, February 12 through Saturday, February 13, with an optional social gathering the evening of Thursday, February 11.

This year’s meeting aims to carry out commitments articulated at the NDSG 2020 meeting, to center youth leadership and teachers’ voices, and to spark small group learning that continues throughout the year. It also re-engages, from the vantage point of teaching and learning through the COVID pandemic, the core themes of last year’s meeting: Racial Justice, Collective Healing, Radical Love, and Liberatory Pedagogy.

The challenges of uprooting racism and healing trauma in our schools and communities require space where educators, students, and community members are listening closely to one another, reflecting, and growing in restorative practices. We hope you will be part of growing this learning space for collective liberation.

General Information

This year's sessions will be held via the Zoom video calling platform. To participate, please download and install the latest version of the Zoom client for laptop/desktop (Windows/MacOS), or the official Zoom App from your mobile device App store (Android, iOS). A broadband Internet connection, microphone/webcam or enabled device are recommended. Participation via dial-in telephone service (audio only) is also available. Links, a detailed schedule of sessions, and join codes will be provided to registered participants closer to the event dates. Please register by February 10, 2021.

Programming includes presentations, panels, large and small-group conversations, and other engaging activities. All sessions will include regular breaks to prevent screen fatigue.

Tentative Schedule

Click here for complete schedule details!

Thursday Evening, February 11, 2021 (Optional)
Pre-Meeting Social -- Meet other attendees and get ready for the event! 3-5PM PST/ 4-5PM MST/ 5-7PM CST/ 6-8PM EST

Friday Evening, February 12, 2021 (~4 hours): 2-6PM PST/ 3-7PM MST/ 4-8PM CST/ 5-9PM EST
-- Welcome and Opening, Community Building, and Tech Orientation -- Chicago's Kenwood Academy Spoken Word Team Performance
-- Youth Presentations: Austin, Chicago, Oakland, Mississippi-Vermont
-- Small-group conversations

Saturday, February 13, 2021(Day of Programming): Starting at 9AM PST/ 10AM MST/ 11AM CST/ 12 PM EST
-- Saturday AM: Teacher Stories Panel, Breakout Workshops, and Open Spaces Conversations
-- Saturday PM: Choose your own adventures, Small-group conversations, Youth Presentations: Austin, Chicago, Oakland, Mississippi-Vermont; Poetry and open-mic

Programming includes presentations, panels, large and small-group conversations, and other engaging activities. All sessions will include regular breaks to prevent screen fatigue.

Questions?

Contact David Wasserman, NDSG VAM '21 Planning Committee Co-Chair

Manage My Registration Account